CDF Freedom Schools

>>CDF Freedom Schools
CDF Freedom Schools2021-07-14T15:50:48-06:00

The Children’s Defense Fund Freedom Schools® program provides comprehensive, culturally-relevant summer and after-school enrichment to children in high-poverty areas. The program helps children fall in love with reading, increases their self-esteem, generates more positive attitudes toward learning and connects their families with needed resources in the community. The CDF Freedom Schools program is proven to curb summer learning loss and help close the opportunity gap. Rooted in the 1964 Mississippi Freedom Summer and the Civil Rights Movement with a transformative vision of education for all children, the program is a key part of our work to level the playing field for all children. Since 1995, more than 137,000 pre-K-12 children have had a CDF Freedom Schools experience and more than 16,000 college students and young adult staff have been trained to deliver this empowering model.

Nicole Hernandez
Nicole HernandezYouth Development Director, CDF-MN
For more information about the CDF Freedom Schools program in Minnesota, contact Nicole Hernandez.

p: (651) 855-1174
e: nhernandez@childrensdefense.org

Contact A Minnesota CDF Freedom Schools® Site:

Academia Cesar Chavez, 1801 Lacrosse Ave, St Paul, MN 55119:

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Sarah Johnston at sjohnston@cesarchavezschool.com or (612) 840-9408.

Anoka-Hennepin School District, 10620 Direct River Dr. NW, Coon Rapids, MN 55433:

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Todd Protivinsky at Todd.protivinsky@ahschools.us or (763) 506-1049.

Friendship Academy of the Arts, 2600 E 38th St, Minneapolis, MN 55406:

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Leavon Fields at lfields@friendshipacademy.org or (651) 278-1887.

ISD 622 @ Webster and Richardson Elementary Schools, 2400 17th Ave E, North St. Paul, MN 55109

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Joseph Brooks at jbrooks@isd622.org, or Cherise Ayers at cayers@isd622.org.

Kitty Andersen Youth Science Center @ St. Paul City School, 260 Edmund Ave, St. Paul, MN 55103

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Emmanuel Donaby at edonaby@smm.org or (612) 385-4111.

Lutheran Social Services @ Christ River Church of Life, 2200 Fremont Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55411

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact contact Jartue Kroma at jartue1@yahoo.com.

Minneapolis Public Schools @ Green Central, 3416 4th Ave S, Minneapolis MN 55408

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Desean Smedley at desean.smedley@mpls.k12.mn.us or (612) 668-3864.

Minneapolis Public Schools @ City View, 3350 N 4th St, Minneapolis MN 55412

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Desean Smedley at desean.smedley@mpls.k12.mn.us or (612) 668-3864.

Park Avenue Youth and Family Services @ First Universalist Church, 3400 Dupont Ave. S Minneapolis, MN 55408

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Michelle Higgins at michellehiggins@payfs.org or (651) 343-8778.

Robbinsdale Area Schools, 8525 62nd Ave N, New Hope MN 55428

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Tamuriel Grace at tamuriel_grace@rdale.org or (763) 504-8026.

St. Paul Public Schools Capitol Hill/Rondo, 560 Concordia Ave, St. Paul, MN 55103

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Dr. Darcel Hill at Darcel.hill@spps.org or (651) 428-1322.

St. Paul Public Schools Hazel Park, 1140 White Bear Ave, St. Paul, MN 55106

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Dr. Darcel Hill at Darcel.hill@spps.org or (651) 428-1322.

Zanewood Community STEAM School, 7000 Zane Ave N, Brooklyn Park, MN 55429

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Courtney Gulyard at gulyardc@district279.org or (763) 561-9077.

You are leaving the CDF-MN site and being redirected to the National Children's Defense Fund website.