CDF Freedom Schools

>>CDF Freedom Schools
CDF Freedom Schools2021-03-24T21:07:34-06:00

The Children’s Defense Fund Freedom Schools® program provides comprehensive, culturally-relevant summer and after-school enrichment to children in high-poverty areas. The program helps children fall in love with reading, increases their self-esteem, generates more positive attitudes toward learning and connects their families with needed resources in the community. The CDF Freedom Schools program is proven to curb summer learning loss and help close the opportunity gap. Rooted in the 1964 Mississippi Freedom Summer and the Civil Rights Movement with a transformative vision of education for all children, the program is a key part of our work to level the playing field for all children. Since 1995, more than 137,000 pre-K-12 children have had a CDF Freedom Schools experience and more than 16,000 college students and young adult staff have been trained to deliver this empowering model.

Nicole Hernandez
Nicole HernandezYouth Development Director, CDF-MN
For more information about the CDF Freedom Schools program in Minnesota, contact Nicole Hernandez.

p: (651) 855-1174
e: nhernandez@childrensdefense.org

Contact A Minnesota CDF Freedom Schools® Site:

Academia Cesar Chavez, 1801 Lacrosse Ave, St Paul, MN 55119:

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Sarah Johnston at sjohnston@cesarchavezschool.com or (612) 840-9408.

Friendship Academy of the Arts, 2600 E 38th St, Minneapolis, MN 55406:

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Leavon Fields at lfields@friendshipacademy.org or (651) 278-1887.

ISD 622 @ Webster and Richardson Elementary Schools, 2400 17th Ave E, North St. Paul, MN 55109

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Joseph Brooks at jbrooks@isd622.org, or Cherise Ayers at cayers@isd622.org.

Kitty Andersen Youth Science Center @ St. Paul City School, 260 Edmund Ave, St. Paul, MN 55103

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Emmanuel Donaby at edonaby@smm.org or (612) 385-4111.

Lutheran Social Services @ Christ River Church of Life, 2200 Fremont Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55411

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact contact Sophia Wilson at Sophia.wilson@lssmn.org or (612) 368-6264, or Jartue Kroma at jartue1@yahoo.com.

Minneapolis Public Schools, 1250 W. Broadway, Minneapolis MN 55411

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Anthony Williams at Anthony.williams@mpls.k12.mn.us or (612) 668-5277.

Park Avenue Youth and Family Services @ Park Ave UMC, 3400 Park Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55407

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Michelle Higgins at michellehiggins@payfs.org or (651) 343-8778.

St. Paul Public Schools Capitol Hill/Rondo, 560 Concordia Ave, St. Paul, MN 55103

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Dr. Darcel Hill at Darcel.hill@spps.org or (651) 428-1322.

St. Paul Public Schools Hazel Park, 1140 White Bear Ave, St. Paul, MN 55106

For scholar enrollment and interested Servant Leader Interns contact Dr. Darcel Hill at Darcel.hill@spps.org or (651) 428-1322.

You are leaving the CDF-MN site and being redirected to the National Childrens Defense Fund website.